Skip to content


The Supreme Court was established in accordance with the First Charter of Justice in 1807 by the British. Under the Second Charter of Justice in 1826, a centralised judiciary was established for the Straits Settlements. The Third Charter in 1855, separated the court into two divisions: Penang and Malacca was one, with Singapore as the other.

In 1868, the Judiciary became a separate authority from the Executive when the Supreme Court of the Straits Settlements was established. In 1878, the subordinate courts were established. The subordinate courts included the Magistrates’ Courts and Coroners’ Courts.

Play Video