Skip to content

Special Economic Zones Law

The Myanmar Special Economic Zone Law was enacted by the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (Pyidaungsu Hluttaw Law No.1/2014) on 23 January, 2014

There are 18 Chapters in the Myanmar Special Economic Zone Law.

They are:

  1. Title, Relevance and Definition

  2. Objectives

  3. Formation of the Central Body and its Functions and Duties

  4. Formation of the Central Working Body and its Functions and Duties

  5. Formation of the Management Committee and its Functions

  6. The establishment of Special Economic Zone

  7. Stipulations of Free Zone and Promotion Zone

  8. Types of Investment Business, the Duties and the Exemptions of the Investor

  9. Development Business, Duties and Exemptions of Developer

  10. The Exemptions and Reliefs on the Import Revenue of the Developer and the Investor

  11. The Settlement of Disputes

  12. Withholding Tax from the Source

  13. Bank and Finance Management and Insurance Business

  14. Management and Inspection of Goods by the Customs Department

  15. Quarantine Inspection and Confinement so as not to spread Contagious Disease

  16. Matters relating to Labour

  17. Land Use

  18. Miscellaneous

For more info, please click here.

Play Video